top of page
Hammett Prize.jpg

The Dashiell Hammett Prize

Past Winners, Nominees, and Judges


Winner: Pay Dirt Road by Samantha Jayne Allen (Minotaur)

Copperhead Road by Brad Smith (At Bay Press)
Don't Know Tough by Eli Cranor (Soho Crime)
What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline (G.P. Putnam)
Gangland by Chuck Hogan

Kenneth Turan (Film critic)
Nancy Kilpatrick (Horror writer and editor)
Ann Goldstein (Translator)
Pay Dirt Road cover image Samantha Jayne Allen


Winner: Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)

Stung by William Deverell (ECW)
Five Decembers by James Kestrel (Hard Case)
Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)
The Sacrifice of Lester Yates by Robin Yocum (Arcade CrimeWise)

Mae Woods (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences)
Meta Carstarphen (Editor at Communication Booknotes Quarterly)
Jennifer Fremlin (Writer and professor, Huntingdon College, Alabama)

Razorblade Tears cover image S.A. Cosby
bottom of page